Gatherings @ Hope – An 11 Week Series on Sunday Mornings

In the area where I live, I am surrounded by many different churches, each with their own way of doing Sunday morning gatherings. I imagine you may experience a wide variety of music, size of bands, lighting effects, instruments, and much more. Walk into a church down the street and you may see a choir, an organ, pews with hymnals and the KJV, while across the street, at the local high school, you may find a full size band, lights and smoke, tv screens, etc.

Here at Hope Church, where I lead the worship band, we doing things our own way.

I don’t think we do everything right, by the fact that we frequently have blunders, like falling mics, breaking strings, when to dismiss the kids, and other things. I know we don’t do things perfectly, simply by the fact that I am leading us. I believe that we can continue to grow, both in numbers and depth.

But what I do hope is that our gatherings on Sundays are an authentic place where the unbeliever can be welcomed by a loving community as they come to know the love of God, where the believer has an opportunity to hear the preached word and be moved to grow in love for the Lord, and where both can be free of burden, expectations, and the need to hide from being broken people in need of freedom in Christ.

So, starting next week, I will walk through what we, at Hope Church, do on a Sunday morning. I’ll go through a “typical” Sunday, highlighting the elements of our service so that we can grow to better appreciate those elements, but more importantly, to push us to a greater knowledge and love for our Lord, Jesus Christ. Here is where I’m going:

 

1- Pre-service: Is it okay to show up at 9:35 or later? Do I need to show up before the service begins? 

2- Call to Worship: Scripture sets the tone for Worship

3- Songs: Singing … because emotions do matter and music an emotional response

4- Prayers of the People: Prayer is important and we all stink at praying. So teach us to pray like you taught your disciples

5- Confession: Do I really need to be reminded how sinful I am? 

6- Assurance: “Hear the Good News” 

7- Sermon: We must always preach grace … because the Law prescribes good works, but only Grace can produce them.

8- Communion: Bread and Wine Juice are good for the soul. 

9- Offering: You’re probably saying, “Of course he is going to talk about money.” 

10-  Benediction: A word that you probably couldn’t define but should be very thankful for. 

11- Doxology: Why do we always end with the same song? 

 

Check in over the next 11 weeks as we walk through a Sunday morning gathering at Hope Church. If you have any questions you would like me to address in this series, please feel free to comment below or email me at bucketofquestions@gmail.com.

May you “grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.” 2 Peter 3:18

 

